Lead, Again

Last Monday I posted this on Twitter:

This tweet only got one “favorite” — but it’s the one that counts: my employer.

The corresponding post on Facebook received 70+ likes and about 10 comments. I guess I know which social media account my friends prefer.

Answered Prayer

Before this job at Lead Academy opened, I was interviewing for a job with another organization. (I need extra work to supplement my income from Mill Community Ministries.)

I was on the way to a second interview (on a Monday morning), when I learned about this position with Lead Academy. All week, I prayed for God to show me what He had for me.

And He did. Of course.

On Thursday afternoon, I received a phone call from that other organization saying they filled the position internally, with someone who had more direct experience.

Far from being downcast, I was elated that God made it clear what He had for me. And now that I’m into my role as a teacher, I’m excited . . . and nervous.

My Role

I will be teaching seventh and eighth grade math, plus algebra. As a former chemist, you’d think teaching math would be easy for me. But I have a lot to learn.

Don’t get me wrong, I love math. At Furman, I took my third calculus class as an elective, just because I liked the subject so much.

But it’s one thing to know a subject, and it’s another thing to be able to teach it in meaningful ways. Especially to a group of middle schoolers.

Stretched, Again

Four months ago, I thought I was stretched . . . and I was. I was (by God’s grace) Stretched to the Point of Dependence. But that was nothing compared to what it feels like now.

For the next 3.5 months, I will be teaching 4 classes (last fall it was just two classes for 9 weeks). And this includes getting my students ready for the all-too-important standardized testing in May. It’s a lot to do, so I’m thinking about it in stages:

  1. Get through the first 2 weeks. (February)
  2. Get to spring break. (February – March)
  3. Finish the year (April – May)

Plus, we now have 3 afternoons of after school programming each week: Clubhouse Kids and Powered for Life. And there’s everything else I need to be doing with my job with Mill Community Ministries.

And unfortunately, I won’t be able to give as much attention to this blog. I have so many things I want to say, but I think I’ll mostly share good articles and resources from others. That’s fine. They can probably communicate better than I.

What You Can Do

I don’t tell you all this so that you’d pity or admire me. Please don’t do either. I only ask that you would pray:

  1. For me.  Working two near-full-time jobs will be physically tiring and emotionally draining.
  2. For my family.  The next few months will be a tough stretch for my wife and kids. I will have to divert time and attention from them. I have to remember that it’s only for a short season, but it still will require sacrifice on their part.
  3. For my students.  Ultimately, I can endure this season if I know it’s worth it. I took this job partly for the money (being honest . . .), but I also took it because these students needed someone to teach them. I want to help them learn. I have a lot to learn about how I can teach them. Pray that they will adjust to my teaching style, and that they will grow and learn as students.

I remember the words of Winston Churchill: “Strength is granted to us all when we are needed to serve great causes.”

And I remember the words of the Apostle Paul: “Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary.”

Related Links:

Share your insights or questions

