The Cause and Effect of Our Love

heart_stone everystockphoto vancity197From John, the one whom Jesus loved:

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love. By this the love of God was manifested in us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world so that we might live through Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has seen God at any time; if we love one another, God abides in us, and His love is perfected in us.”  (I John 4:7-12)

It couldn’t be more clear. But just in case . . .

  1. God loves you (proven by Him sending Jesus to die for you).
  2. Therefore, you should love others.
  3. If you don’t love others (in practice), God doesn’t abide in you.

Care to share your thoughts?

Related Links:

**image courtesy of vancity197 via everystockphoto

4 thoughts on “The Cause and Effect of Our Love

  1. Very simple, yet very poignant. It’s one that is many people fail to follow, especially those that look down on others. I can confess that back when I was on Facebook, I would block certain people from my newsfeed because many times when they posted something, I would look down on them. It was times like that in which I would have a heart check. I’m probably way off on what you are looking to hear, but that is what I immediately thought of.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t looking to hear anything specific. I love your thoughts. I wouldn’t have thought of it that way, but now that you mention it, I know I’ve done the same.

      Thanks for opening the conversation.

      Like

  2. There’s little else I’ve prayed for myself over the last number of years actually, than that God would change my heart and give me a greater love for those around me. Not just in my small circle, but my next door neighbor, people I’m in regular contact with during the week or month. I think I’m “good” in so many discipleship areas…but at the root of it all is just this: God loves people, and as you noted, if I don’t have the same love for others, in particular the lost, have I really been changed by God? Have I let Him change my heart?

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing that, Krista. It seems like God is moving a bunch of us in that way, to strive to grow in our love. As you said, the biggest thing is to remember God’s love for us.

      And thanks for all the ways that you have loved us and people we know!

      Like

Share your insights or questions

