Top Posts of 2014

Micah 6_8Happy New Year!

Not sure how much you’ll be reading blogs today, or how much you’ll be watching football. Even if you are doing the latter, I’m sure they will be some terrible games. Why don’t you use some of your relaxing time to skim over some articles?

As I’m easing back into blogging from a little break, I figured this would be a good time to recap the top posts from 2014 (mind you — this blog was only launched at the end of the summer).

Did you miss any of these articles? Or do you want a refresher?

#6.  Why Don’t We Strive for Racial ReconciliationThe issue of diversity and the church has been on my mind a lot over the past few months. And apparently I am not alone.

#5.  Don’t Fund the Fight Against CancerA fun little article I wrote. Well, fun if you ignore the parts about cancer and poverty.

#4.  Teaching, and LearningExplaining the part-time jobs I had this fall. I was thankful for these opportunities!

#3.  Ministry Update: Your FAQs and SAQs. A late summer (or early fall?) update on what we were going to do in Greenville. Be sure to also read the follow-up post from 6 weeks later.

#2.  School InequalityI’m no Robin Hood, with the goal of robbing the rich to give to the poor. But the vast difference between the haves and have-nots is alarming. And as a follow up, I got to see the inside of this building (described in this post) during my son’s robotics competition. Yes, the school facilities are amazing, as you would expect from the price tag. But the school’s team still did not perform exceptionally. Money can’t buy everything, huh?

#1.  Eric Garner, Michael Brown, You, and MeI don’t usually write on hot topics, but I did this time, writing this the evening after a controversial decision was made. I was tired and emotional when I wrote it, which may have been a good thing, based on the support, sharing, and even some pushback it received. Of all the pageviews I’ve had on this blog, over 40% have been on this single post.

(Side note: To the person who found my blog while searching for “what does carcinogenic mean” — sorry that you were led down the wrong path. But the answer, in case you haven’t found it yet, is “cancer causing.”)

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to learning more with you in 2015!

Share your insights or questions

