The Adventure of 15 Years

Notes Allendale 10Nov

I posted this picture on Instagram a few weeks ago. These ~60 words were the summation of a meeting with a leader from Grace Church, as we began to explore the idea of moving to Allendale, SC.

A week later, Joanna and I met with other leaders from Grace Church, and on December 14, 2010, we (Joanna and I, plus those same two leader) took our first trip to Allendale. We met with some local community leaders, people who would look after us during our season in Allendale.

Two weeks after that, our family went down again, to let the kids experience it. They loved it, and we are thankful for their great memories of the Allendale community.

And three weeks after that, I started working for the Boys and Girls Club in Allendale.

Yes, it all went quickly for us (so don’t let time be an obstacle for you moving to Allendale). But it amazes me how that adventure began 4 years ago with a brief 30-minute conversation.

Not the Beginning

In truth, our family’s adventure can be traced back further than November 2010. We could talk about the mission trips we each went on, or my job changes (especially joining Grace Church’s staff in 2007), or when our children were born.

Wedding Joey_JoannaHowever, today we celebrate the genesis of the Espinosa family:  on December 11, 1999, Joanna and I were married.

(Of course, we could trace God’s redemptive stories in each of our lives way earlier than this date. But today we’ll focus on our anniversary!)

The Journey and Adventure

Like all couples, Joanna and I thought we knew each other well, and we thought we knew the path for our life, on the day we were married. A year later, we were shocked to realize that we knew each other (and God) a lot more. And the same after 3 years, and 5, and 8, 10, etc. Now at 15 years of marriage, our intimacy has deepened, but we also know that it has a long way to go.

Do we really have that much more to learn about each other? What more will we learn about each other over the next 15 years, and beyond?

I don’t know what we don’t know about each other, but I’m glad we have years to figure it out.

And I do know these things:

  • God loves us, more than we love ourselves.
  • We are a part of God’s story, which He is unfolding before us, step by step.
  • I love my wife more today than I did 15 years ago.
  • There is no one else with whom I’d rather share this adventure.

Happy Anniversary, Joanna!

Related Links:

Share your insights or questions

