Year-End Giving: Mill Community Ministries

cash morguefile cohdra

It’s that time of the year when you will be inundated with numerous requests to donate money before 2014 is over. (Can we say “tax deduction”?). And that’s great, since there are many worthwhile charities that need our support.

Besides giving to Grace Church and supporting a few overseas missionaries (Osborns, Cawleys, Dosters), we also donate to a few other charities (both faith-based and social service) regularly. Over the last 10 years, we’ve consolidated more and more so we are not spreading out our resources too much.

Do you know who else we give to? Mill Community Ministries, the organization I work for. And if you are wondering where you can make a meaningful financial contribution, I encourage you to consider donating to Mill Community Ministries, too.

Setting an Example

Do you think it’s odd that we donate to the very organization that provides (most of) our income? I would have thought so, too, if I had not witnessed something over 18 years ago, when I was new to Grace Church.

I was a college student, and had only been a Christian for about a year. I was new to church in general, and despite living in the south, I had few examples of what it looks like to live out an authentic faith in Jesus Christ.

One Sunday morning, before the worship service started (all 35 of us in a meeting room at the Hyatt), I saw the pastor put a check in the offering box. (We didn’t then, and still do not now, pass an offering plate. Boxes are in the back of the room.)

I always thought that the paid “holy men” get money from their churches, not give it to their church. But here was a man who was trusting God with his resources, and who was personally vested in the mission of Grace. It shaped me and marked my perspective on church, ministry, and money.

So why do we give to Mill Community Ministries (MCM)? Because we believe in our vision. We believe that the gospel-centered relationships can change individuals, families, and communities. And we believe that MCM is helping this happen in Greenville, SC.

We want to see MCM continue to grow in their efforts and ministries, and know that this can only happen through the generosity and faith of many.

Asking Is a Part of Evangelism

I had lunch with a man a few weeks ago. His family had been getting more involved at Grace Church, and he was wanting to know more about MCM. I explained our mission, and our needs (volunteers and money).

I joked that it’s always been easier for me to ask for people’s time than their money. He then told me the story of when he went on a short-term mission trip, and he felt the same way. He hesitated to ask others to financially support his overseas trip.

But then it dawned on him, and he shared his theology with me: “Asking for money is a way to share your faith.”

When you ask for money for a certain reason, you are proclaiming the glory and value of that cause. We only ask  people to support things we believe in. No way would I ask you to sacrifice for an non-worthy endeavor. And there is no way that I myself would sacrifice for something I don’t believe in.

(By the way — this guy said they had some extra money they wanted to donate to MCM, and he handed me $83.)

I’m Asking You Because I Believe

I am asking you to support Mill Community Ministries because I believe in what we are doing.

I am asking you to support Mill Community Ministries because I believe that God is growing His kingdom through this organization.

I am asking you to join me in supporting Mill Community Ministries because we are seeing lives changed, and I want you to be a part of it.

Will you join our team?

“Every man shall give as he is able, according to the blessing of the LORD your God which He has given you.”  Deuteronomy 16:17

Related Links:

**image courtesy of cohdra via morguefile

Share your insights or questions

