Why “Justice, Kindness, Humility”?

Micah 6_8“He has told you, O man, what is good;

And what does the LORD require of you

But to do justice,

to love kindness,

And to walk humbly with your God?”

Of all the verses I could have picked to focus on for this blog, why did I pick Micah 6:8? For all that I want to learn and teach about poverty and education and Jesus and politics, why I am I naming this blog “Justice • Kindness • Humility”?

Because plenty of people are already using James 1:27 and Matthew 25:34-40.

In truth, I could have picked any verse (even if this is a little out of context) and any title. But something has struck me about this verse, as it speaks to me about what it means to live out the gospel and to serve others. And what stands out to makes me a little uncomfortable.

There are no specific details, and no to-do list.

I’m a guy who likes a formula (it’s the chemist in me). The past few weeks of surveying the scene has been tough on me. I’d rather know the details of the plan, and then go get it done.

God’s command (He has told you) here is vague: do justice, be kind, be humble. I want to cry out, “How, God? What exactly am I supposed to do? I need details!”

I think desperation is the point. God wants us to love others (Mark 12:31) through justice, kindness, and humility. But above that, He wants me to love and pursue Him with all that I am (v. 30). He wants me to ask Him, “How?” and “What’s next?”

I don’t have all the answers for what it means to love God and love others. But I will move forward, and I hope you will, too.

When it comes to living out the gospel, we need to remember that we all need help, and we all need to give grace. No matter who we are or what we do or what we have, we all are called to be just, kind, and humble.

Whether we are under-privileged, over-privileged, or sorta-privileged, we all need a tool belt of grace.

Even if we don’t yet know exactly what those tools are.

Here’s a question for you . . .

Which of these three (justice, kindness, humility) is the hardest for you to live out? Let us know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Why “Justice, Kindness, Humility”?

  1. Of the 3, I have spent a good bit of the past few years better understanding Justice and the importance of it. The more I learn, the more I want make it aware to my peers. Unfortunately, many of my peers who fit the socio-economic mold of the upper middle class, are blinded by the actual injustices that are around us.

    Kindness is something that I’ve strived for since I was a teenager, though I have failed there at times as well.

    But to answer your question, it is and will always be humility. Though I will continue to strive to excel in all 3 categories. By the way, I like the title and know that over the years, I will learn from it.

    Like

Share your insights or questions

