A Small Manifesto

GREEN GALILEE _ farmland

“He has told you, O man, what is good;
And what does the LORD require of you
But to do justice, to love kindness,
And to walk humbly with your God?”  
Micah 6:8

Tomorrow’s generation is divided. This division has less to do with race or money or politics. It has to do with opportunity.

The truth is that not everyone has the same access to resources, education, health care, and love. This is an injustice. And this violates the core of who we are as humans.

But there is hope. I know there is, for 2 reasons:

First, we have a sovereign God who is deeply concerned with each of us. He is intimately active in this world, as He desires for us to know Him and trust in Him.

Second, because you can think, feel, and do, you have what others need. You can always learn from others, and you can always teach others.

You have something to share. Maybe it’s your time. Maybe it’s your money. Maybe it’s your expertise. Maybe it’s your life experience. Maybe it’s all of the above.

impostor_syndrome bufferI’ll be honest, for as much as I learned in my time in Allendale, I feel like I should know about poverty and education and the gospel. I feel like people expect me to know a lot, and I probably do know a good bit. At least, I know a lot more than I did 4 years ago.

But I also feel like an imposter. I still say “I don’t know” a whole bunch, and that’s ok.

It’s ok that we don’t know. But in the face of uncertainty, we have to embrace ambiguity and move forward.

The world is full of chaos and injustice and despair. But in the greatest crises are the greatest opportunities to love and to communicate truth (see Matthew 24:12-14).

I invite you to help me learn. I invite you to join this community.

I invite you to Do Justice, Love Kindness, and Live Humbly with God. Make a difference in this world, as you bring love and justice to those who need it most.

Related Links:

We Created This Monster

 **first image courtesy of israeltourism via flickr

**second image courtesy of buffer

3 thoughts on “A Small Manifesto

  1. Well said. “The truth is that not everyone has the same access to resources, education, health care, and love. This is an injustice.” – this injustice feels impossible to overcome, but it helps me to think of it in terms of one person in whose life God may choose to use me. Not a huge social issue. I accept your invite, Joey. Please let me know specific ways I can be involved.

    Like

  2. “The truth is that not everyone has the same access to resources, education, health care, and love. This is an injustice. And this violates the core of who we are as humans.”

    The Triune God, (who I believe to be Sovereign) when He created each of us did not create us with the same opportunities – some of us have better mental capabilities, others have better physical capabilities – thus better opportunities for success. So from your reasoning God must be unjust since He planned from the beginning that some of us would have better opportunities than others.

    What is justice?

    I remember having just graduated from college with an eagerness to go out and change the world. President Johnson had just started his “war on poverty” – I was going to be part of it. I was part of the second group to be trained to be a Vista Volunteer (Volunteers In Service To America), I would then live in a migrant labor camp in Texas. From there I would spend a good portion of my life serving, fighting for the poor – but I saw little change. Why?

    Satan knows how to confuse us; to get us to think we are doing good and we take our eyes off of God and Truth. Rather than continually asking what does this individual truly need, we give them what is comfortable for us, what makes us feel good. Oh we may think we are sacrificing – but all too often the sacrifice itself is given to make ourselves feel good.

    I saw this over and over in Christian ministries (actually I see it today in Children’s Ministry and is why we are losing 70% of our church raised children). when I served in the inner city. Here is one such story I experienced http://kidtrekasp.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/after-school-programs-what-do-at-risk-kids-need/

    The greatest need for most people is not for opportunity – they aren’t at a place to know what to do with opportunity. The greatest need is for someone who walks with the Triune God to come alongside of them and walk through life with them – that means experiencing pain with them, experiencing failure with them, etc. etc. They need someone who will spend hours on their knees begging Almighty God to open their hearts, minds, eyes to Him so He can set them free. Only leading them to God will get them to true justice. They need the strength of God to be able to grab ahold of the opportunity you will then lead them towards.

    And you know what? There are some very very wealthy people who also need this justice.

    After serving the poor for years the Lord put my husband and I down in the middle of one of the wealthiest communities in our nation. We would laugh on Sunday mornings that our little Chevette sat in the parking lot and whimpered around all the BMWs, Mercedes and even higher priced cars. I had been hired as Children’s Pastor while my husband was on staff of a mission organization that took him into some of the most challenging areas of the world. I fought with God, how could I love these wealthy people? His reply to me was, “Wanda you will never be able to serve the poor until you learn to love the wealthy.”

    Here is a link to how I learned how Satan loves to direct us towards faulty reasoning http://www.kidtrek-sundayplus.org/child-discipleship-my-hearts-cry/

    May the Lord fill you with His wisdom along with the desire and strength to follow that wisdom. May He show you things about serving the poor you have never seen before.

    Proverbs 2:3-5
    “If you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.”

    Like

Share your insights or questions

